Author Topic: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)  (Read 120 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline johninkingwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Last Login:Today at 06:15:19 pm
Question:

What is the correct way to record a line for partial completion of a loop?

My specific example is on the Charlotte beltway (I-485). In this instance, I have traveled from waypoint I-85(48) on the outer loop (headed north, west, south, and east) to waypoint 57. I have not traveled the entire loop.

I know on this loop that there is a waypoint 30 next to the I-85 North/I-485 interchange. Do I use that waypoint instead of I-85(48)?

I haven't been able to record this properly. I have been able to have it record the part of the loop that I have not traveled, but not the part that I have traveled.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 11:30:30 am by johninkingwood »

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 848
  • Last Login:Today at 07:46:42 pm
Re: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 12:04:07 pm »
Basically, segments in your list file cannot span the "reset" point.  Such segments will be treated as the "other" part of the loop, since segments are credited as if loops are regular routes from start ("30", for I-485) to end ("I-85(48)" for I-485).  In cases where your travels span the reset point, you'll need two entries.

In your specific case, just use points 30 and 57.  It's the order you see them in the HB page.

Offline oscar

  • TM Collaborator
  • TM Collaborator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 318
  • Last Login:Today at 07:51:29 pm
Re: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 12:21:22 pm »
If we were starting from scratch, the "reset" point would've been exit 1. However, before the loop was completed, many people had list files reflecting travels counter-clockwise between exit 23 and exit 30 via exit 1 in southern Charlotte. Had we moved the reset point to exit 1, those users would have shown travels on the newest part of the loop clockwise between exits 23 and 30, the only part of the loop that they had not traveled. So we left the reset point where it was.

Offline yakra

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • Last Login:Today at 03:54:58 pm
Re: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2017, 12:56:25 pm »
In your specific case, just use points 30 and 57.  It's the order you see them in the HB page.
Waypoint 30 bookends the eastern segment, which @johninkingwood has not traveled, if I understand his post correctly.
I believe the correct .list line would be NC I-485 I-85(48) 57

Offline johninkingwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Last Login:Today at 06:15:19 pm
Re: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2017, 03:03:41 pm »
In your specific case, just use points 30 and 57.  It's the order you see them in the HB page.
Waypoint 30 bookends the eastern segment, which @johninkingwood has not traveled, if I understand his post correctly.
I believe the correct .list line would be NC I-485 I-85(48) 57

My current line is I-485(48) 57. It shows as "waypoint label not found".

I had previously submitted "57 30", and it showed the southeast portion as clinched, which I have not traveled.

I will submit "30 57" on my next submission.

Thank you to all for your input!

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 848
  • Last Login:Today at 07:46:42 pm
Re: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2017, 03:41:21 pm »
My current line is I-485(48) 57. It shows as "waypoint label not found".

I think yakra was right about the direction.  Your waypoint label not found is because it's I-85(48), not I-485(48).

Offline johninkingwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Last Login:Today at 06:15:19 pm
Re: Correct Line/Waypoint for Loop/Beltway (I-485-Charlotte Beltway)
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2017, 11:10:04 pm »
My current line is I-485(48) 57. It shows as "waypoint label not found".

I think yakra was right about the direction.  Your waypoint label not found is because it's I-85(48), not I-485(48).

Good catch! I submitted it with waypoints "30 57", and it only recorded the southeast section that I have actually not traveled. I will submit another file with I-85(48) as a waypoint instead of I-485(48).

Again, thank you to everyone!